Expat Women Confessions


When I first heard about the new book “Expat Women Confessions – 50 Answers to Your Real-Life Questions about Living Abroad” launched today May 5, 2011 by the founder, and the director of  Expatwomen.com and book author Andrea Martins, I thought that the word “confession” was a very appropriate word to readjust the “glamorous” image of real expat women by sharing “the good, the bad and the ugly” of being an expat woman.

My own confession to you is that although I am very proud of my achievements as a professional, a wife, a mother and the woman I became today after 20 years of expatriation, I must admit I have a tendency to minimize and hide my personal struggles and over-emphasize my successes and the benefits of being a corporate international assignee or a local foreigner.

By becoming a career  and life coach with many expatriate women as clients, I realized that we do share similarities in our lives regardless of nationalities, countries, age and even social status.

I wrote two articles I want to share again with you to give you an idea of the importance and big impact of the role of women in the expatriation failure or success:

Those topics are very well-developed in “Expat Women Confessions

Still today I feel kind of “failure is not an option” trying to balance all my roles. I have also the perception that the self-imposed pressure to succeed as a mom, wife, business owner, coach and managing current relocation is partly due to my guilt of moving away again from family , friends, clients and sadness to leave behind my best kept secrets about Brussels:  my favorite restaurants, cafe, boutiques and many other nice places and people I enjoyed.

In addition this time we are moving back to the USA after two years in Belgium but we chose our own destiny: we are not following any company and we can only blame us if something goes wrong , right ?, well wrong! In all decision-making processes you have to deal with the loss of the other options. It takes time, there is no magic recipe. During this “in between” periods just after the final decisions have been made and when there is no turn back options, I feel the most vulnerable especially after all the excitement and adrenalin shots I had for the last two months !

Not only I encourage you to buy  the book (it is on Amazon.com), if you are an expat-to-be or a veteran expat woman or have a family member who is one of them, I also encourage you to participate in the $5,000 Book Launch Competition , you can win coaching sessions including those with me at  Zest and Zen international

For more resources visit: http://www.expatwomen.com/

About Anne Egros, Expat Life, Career & Executive Coach

Zest and Zen is a blog about Global Leadership, Intercultural Communication, Expat Life, Health, Nutrition, Change Psychology
This entry was posted in Anne Egros, Coaching, Executive Coaching, Global Executives, Personal Development, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Expat Women Confessions

  1. Pingback: Expat Life: Culture Shock May Be Inevitable But Pain Is Optional | Anne Egros, Intercultural Executive Coach

  2. Pingback: 5 reasons Why Expat Women Make Such Great Networkers « Anne Egros, Global Executive Coach At Zest and Zen International

  3. Pingback: For Expats It’s Summertime but The Leaving Is Not That Easy! « Anne Egros, Global Executive Coach At Zest and Zen International

  4. Pingback: 5 Most Critical Questions You Should Ask Before Moving Abroad « Anne Egros, Global Executive Coach At Zest and Zen International

  5. Pingback: 5 Most Critical Questions You Should Ask Before Moving Abroad « Anne Egros, Global Executive Coach At Zest and Zen International

  6. Pingback: Expat Women Confessions (via Anne Egros, Global Executive Coach At Zest and Zen International) | TRAVELITERATURE

Please share your comment here:

