Are You In Control Of How You Spend Your Time ?


Are You In Control Of How You Spend Your Time ?

1-What have you done since you read this article ?

2-What tips did you find useful ?

3-What other strategies did you use ?

Examples of what I did for saving time for my business:

I tracked my time on Social Media Platforms and concluded:

#1: I spent too much time learning about Facebook pages and other social media tools in details, now I know more than enough to be able to make a distinction between what works and what don’t  and more importantly I have now in my network a bunch of very good social media experts and online marketing professionals I trust whom I can use for myself or recommend to my friends and clients.                             

#2: Time zones and geography: To be effective I have to post when my clients are active on the Internet. I learned how to use some automatic tools that post for me when I sleep on Twitter for example but it was not really efficient. I also dug deep into cultural preferences and clearly saw that Facebook was not used for business in most of my target countries but used for casual family and friends contacts.

#3: Linkedin authorize you to follow 50 groups (and more if you use sub-groups), I found this is way too many, so I just kept the groups but stopped all the notifications by email. That way I don’t have too much distractions in my inbox. I also leave some groups and join others based on my interests at a specific moment. 

#4: Use Email Filters and Folders. I try to automatically put incoming emails in folders by topics or people. I have one  for all notifications from Facebook, one for Twitter and one for each client or important people, one for blogs and newsletters I follow etc..

#5: I started to use Scoop-it a magazine-like curation tool that help me keep interesting articles that stay there so I can search certain topics and save me time when I need to write an article or a blog. It is better than Twitter for that purpose.

#6:Un-following  people on Twitter:  I am using “ ManageFlitter to eliminate accounts I followed in the past that are no longer active and I want to focus on people who share my interests.

                                                                                                                                               

Anne Egros, Intercultural Executive Coach

Are you always busy, yet not finishing all you want to do or enjoying the way you spend your time ? Time is the most precious asset we have that once spent is lost forever, unlike other precious things we may lose such as money, a job or even love, as we can always replace them. So why most people don’t think about time as an investment and don’t choose wisely how to spend it  as they do about their own money ?

Most people have to go to work because they need money for their families to buy food, clothes and have a roof over their heads not because they love their jobs. Ironically, for money we trade most of our waking hours, minimum 5 days a week for 40 or 50 years, giving away our youth and often our health, until we are too old to enjoy activities we really love…

View original post 709 more words

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Please share your comment here:

